Studio Yoga Levels

Class Descriptions


  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Dance
  • Pilates – Fitness
  • Pranayama
  • Tai Chi
  • Teens – Children
  • Body Work and Healing
  • Philosophy

Studio Yoga Class Levels

Fundamentals of Iyengar Yoga

This series is for first time students of yoga, students new to Iyengar Yoga, and students who have been away from yoga for 2 years or more. Try out the basic shapes of the beginner postures in the company of other first-timers. Learn how to relax. You will also receive an introduction to yoga philosophy.

Iyengar Yoga Tier 1

Learn and refine the basic poses as you build stamina, alignment and poise. You will be introduced to a greater variety of poses including inversions (sarvangasana and halasana).

Iyengar Yoga Tier 2

At the level you will work up to 4 minute sirsasana and sarvangasana with variations. You will also be introduced to full arm balance, unsupported backbends and pranayama.

Iyengar Yoga Tier 3

At this level you will learn more complex asana-s, subtle actions, greater concentration, and coordination of mental and physical states. Poses will include sirsasana variations, pushing up with straight arms into urdhva dhanurasana as well as seated pranayama.

Iyengar Yoga Tier 4

Attendance in these classes is only by permission of the instructor. A consistent home practice and long time commitment to Iyengar Yoga is required. Be prepared to do ten minute sirsasana in the middle of the room.

Yoga Special Topic

Gentle Yoga – Ageless Yoga: Learn to move with greater ease and reap the benefits of yoga even with minimal flexibility.

Women’s Health: Women who attend these classes will explore yoga poses that ease the mind and body during the challenges and transitions of a woman’s life – breast health, menopause, menses, postnatal, PMS.

What is Iyengar Yoga?

The yoga instruction at Studio Yoga is based on the teachings of B.K.S. Iyengar, author of Light on Yoga and Light on Pranayama, and other titles*. His system is unique among yoga systems due to his integration of traditional yogic concepts with modern knowledge of the body and basic principles of movement.
Mr. Iyengar follows the traditional eight-fold path of ashtanga yoga: yama & niyama (moral and ethical principles), asana (postures), pranayama (breathing awareness and energy manipulation), dharana (concentration), pratyahara (sense withdrawal), dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (self-realization, enlightenment). The eight-fold path is the safest path of yoga, never taking you beyond what you are ready for at any given time.
Within the eight-fold path, Mr. Iyengar has greatly developed the art and science of asana and pranayama. His system emphasizes precise and careful body alignment, maximum spinal extension, and the balanced development of muscular flexibility, strength and stamina.

In the Iyengar system, the principles of good body mechanics are never compromised. A student of Iyengar Yoga can be recognized not only by his or her alert, focused demeanor, but also by the way their movements are centered in the pelvis.

In order for all students (no matter what level of experience) to derive the benefits of each pose without compromise, Mr. Iyengar has developed and cultivated the use of yoga “props”. These are backbenders and forward benders, sandbags, ropes, and benches – in addition to common items such as walls, chairs, blankets, ties and pillows. These props are especially valuable in poses for specific concerns such as high blood pressure, heart problems, arthritis, asthma, pregnancy, premenstrual tension, and other challenges – physical, mental and emotional.

For information on classes, or to discuss your specific needs, please call 973-966-5311.

For a complete selection of B.K.S. Iyengar’s work, click here, Tools for Yoga.

For more general information about B.K.S. Iyengar, click here for the official Iyengar web site.